Tips to a Successful First Year

By: Paige Seavey

When entering college as a freshman you are confronted with many new responsibilities. Responsibilities such as a heavier course load, living in a new environment, making new friends, and adapting to a life being on your own.  All of these issues can add a lot of extra stress on a person. Unfortunately, there are no classes in high school that teach you college 101.

Now, being in my junior year, I have learned to adapt to all these new responsibilities through experiences, both good and not-so-good. I realize it would have been nice if someone gave me a list of tips to a successful first year. I decided to come up with a list of my own to help freshman adapt based upon my friends’ and my own experiences.

1. Do not be scared to go up to random people and introduce yourself. Every freshman is in the same position, THEY DON’T KNOW ANYONE so don’t feel anxious that you won’t make any friends. This will help you step out of your comfort zone and be social.

2. Explore your new surroundings! Lasell is located 10 minutes outside of Boston so take advantage of that, and go on adventures with your new friends. Go shopping, site seeing, or go eat at a restaurant.

3. While you are being this new social butterfly don’t forget that you’re in college and you do have classes.  Don’t  skip out on class or at least use your freebee skip days wisely. I know you’re probably thinking, “this is college and I shouldn’t have to go to class every day,” but here at Lasell attendance DOES COUNT and it will affect your grade if you’re constantly not showing up. Therefore, think before you skip.

4. STAY ORGANIZED! Keep a planner of all your assignments. You may think “oh planners are stupid;” they aren’t, they help especially when you don’t have someone reminding you of due dates. A planner can help you stay on top of your work so you don’t fall behind.

5. Keep an equal balance between your social life and school life. I’m not saying don’t enjoy college and become a bookworm, what I’m saying is be wise about it. Enjoy your “Thirsty Thursday” nights but do your work before hand. If you think you can go out every weekend and still do your homework, trust me you won’t!

One Comment on “Tips to a Successful First Year”

  1. These are great tips. I’m just starting college this week and I’ll definitely be keeping these tips in mind.


Leave a Reply

