Finding Your Balance: Freshman Guide to Handling College

                                                                               By:Kate-Lyn Eadie 

College isn’t exactly a picnic, and once you start it may seem a bit overwhelming. Here’s the thing: you just have to find what works for  you. In my freshman year, I took on way more than I could handle. I had six classes, I was playing lacrosse, and I was trying to maintain having a job. It seemed like I didn’t have time to do anything. I realized that as much as I loved playing lacrosse, it may have been too much for me, but i knew I needed money. I dropped lacrosse and stuck with having a job and keeping up with my classes. If you think you’re alone in this, you’re not. Everyone gets overwhelmed at times.

“I wanted to settle in with classes and stuff before I even thought about doing anything outside of school”, said junior Amanda Gardella.

Nothing’s worse than being stressed or feeling like you have too much on your plate. Whenever you get the chance, just take a step back, look at what is in front of you, breathe and take your time doing what you need to do. If you ever need any extra help, there’s always people available. Check out the Academic Achievement Center here at Lasell!

Leave a Reply

