A Super Dissappointment

By Justyn Loguidice

The time only comes once a year, and the moments that lead up to it are some of the most exciting in America. Of course as most know by now, I am talking about Super Bowl Sunday. As an enormous Patriots fan, this day was extra special. Having my team to support in my favorite sporting event of the year is truly special and leaves me asking “What will I do with my other two wishes?”

All of this excitement had built up to gargantuan levels, and 4 hours later, stages of depression commence.  Why I am so attached to the Patriots is beyond reasoning and something most don’t understand, but none the less is still there. To have another heartbreaking loss is something that I didn’t even want to imagine, but the image became reality last Sunday night around 10:00.

My feelings are echoed across the landscape New England, but the pride and resiliency for this team is something that I feel is stronger than ever. Even Patriots owner Bob Kraft stated “I think that the sense of spirit was ignited by the fans” and goes on to be tremendously grateful for the fan base for an unforgettable season. You can check out the entire article here.

These sentiments can be felt here on Lasell campus as well. When walking around school Monday, I  talked to some members of the student body about the game, and the overall trend of the messages are sad but have an upbeat element to them as well. A friend of mine and Lasell senior Alan Dooley, mentioned that he was “hurt and depressed, but still loves the Patriots” Another member of the Lasell faculty, Jeffrey Corcoran  stated that “it’s a tough pill to swallow, but we move on from it”. These conceptions are simple, but give a profound look into the eyes of a true Patriots fan. All of these feelings are found in New England as well. You can check out an article based on the thoughts of the heartbroken fan bases here. (Beware these can be pretty depressing)

So I sit here writing and could really go on forever on what could have been, and what I think should have happened, so on and so forth. There were many plays that were left out there that could have changed the outcome of the game, but the bottom line is that they didn’t. I know the cliche is overused, but in this case is truly precise, and that is you win as a team and you lose as a team, nothing more, nothing less.

They say time heals all wounds, I hope that is the case, because this is a trying time for me.   I can sincerely say at the end of it all, I support the Patriots through thick and thin, and cannot wait until September when the quest for the Lombardi begins again.

Leave a Reply

