All about the music

By Justyn Loguidice

Who are your favorite music artists? This question is something that comes up so often, and I always seem to have the same answer. I grew up in a family where if you didn’t like classic rock and its’ derivatives, you weren’t sitting at the table for Sunday dinner. Therefore when asked this question by someone in my generation, they are usually stunned by the answer.

Currently. Hip-hop, country, rock, they have a stranglehold on the market for people of my demographic. While I can respect peoples’ taste in music, I have never taken the time to look into any of this new stuff because the music of the 60’s and 70’s is just too good to stop listening to. I constantly hear all the time “broaden your horizons”, “give it a listen”, but the truth is I just don’t need to. I have found what I like and I know I’m not alone in liking what I do.

Sure, the average age of people who listen to the music I enjoy is over double me, but do I care? Not in the least, in fact its’ a nice change of scenery and can actually spark some good conversations when talking to an older demographic. All the time I hear “wow I’m surprised you like him”, or “You’re the youngest one at this concert”, and I simply eat it up. So now it comes down to who are my favorites?

Let’s start out by saying that I definitely get this passion and love for this person from my father, who used to blare his music in the car, in the house, maybe even in the delivery room as I was born. The one and only Sir Elton John is bar none my favorite artist. His catalog of music is something that is unmatched by most, and is truly one of the greatest of all time. He has sold over 250 million albums, and is number 5 on the best selling music artists of all time only behind superstars The Beatles, Elvis Presley, Michael Jackson, and Madonna.  He also places # 3 in the greatest artist of the 1970’s. Throughout his career, he has had 56 songs crack the American Top 40, trailing only Elvis in that department. Elton John- An amazing talent.

Other favorite artists include fellow piano man Billy Joel, rockers Tom Petty, Neil Young, and Bruce Springsteen. When it comes to groups, Pink Floyd is first, but there are so many great ones. Led Zeppelin, The Who, The Eagles, Fleetwood Mac, I could really go on forever.

So it is clear to see that I may live in the past when it comes to my music taste, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Classic rock is relevant albeit 40 years later, and I am certainly thankful for that.

Leave a Reply

